Traveling and Eating Healthy

Disclaimer: I am not certified on this subject in any way, this advice is my personal opinion based on (desk)research and personal experiences.

It’s summer and a lot of people pack up their bags and head off to warm, foreign locations. Traveling is the perfect time to relax, rest and regain some energy. Yet relaxing often goes together with hanging around and eating delicious food, food that might not be the most healthy. I dread the day when I come back from my vacation and I step on the scale and realize I’ve gained a kilo or two! Ouch, that’s not how you want to remember your summer vacation.

Walnuts

This year I’ve done my research and prepared myself with the hope that I can both eat new and delicious food as well as stay the same weight.

Before you get to your chosen location, you have to travel there. My family’s transport of choice is our car. When you’re in the car for loads of hours it’s no surprise that you might get bored and hungry. You grab the nearest bag of snacks and start eating away. I’ve made a list of five tips that helped me during this years trip:

  • eat 5 small meals instead of 3 big meals, this will help the feeling that you’re hungry
  • eat healthy snacks like fruit or vegetables
  • don’t bring junk food, it’ll make it easier to resist the temptation
  • drink enough water, especially with warm weather (also, water will fill you up)
  • consume slow carbohydrates like yoghurt, nuts or fruits

kraammetgroenten

When you’re on vacation, it’s fun to eat in different restaurants or cook your meals with local product. But remember, meals in restaurants are often large(r) and contain loads of things that make it taste delicious but aren’t the healthiest for you; like dressing, salt and fat.

  • don’t eat everything on your plate, eat small(er) portions (the rule is that you eat whatever fits into your two hands cupped together)
  • drink water or another drink with a low amount of sugar instead of soda
  • try to choose your meal wisely; vegetables instead of fried items for example, be careful with salads because you might think they’re the healthy option, but salads usually contain a lot of dressing

Healthy cherries

Off course, vacation is a time to celebrate, let loose and indulge a little bit, so don’t set limits that you can’t keep and live a little. Just remember that you can enjoy food and vacation without going overboard on it.

Moving and exercising is just as important as eating healthy. Going on a hike, riding bikes, swimming or playing some ball are great vacation activities that are fun and healthy at the same time!

3 gedachtes over “Traveling and Eating Healthy

  1. dragon city hack gems zegt:

    Wow that was strange. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show
    up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Regardless, just wanted to say superb blog!

    Like

Geef een reactie

