It’s all about Stress

I envy people who are (or seem to be) immune to stress and worrying. I really do. How great would life be when you didn’t worry about grades, choices, friends and family. When stress wouldn’t sneak up to you during the day or in the middle of the night. Sometimes I wonder if humans are born with the tendency to worry and experience stress, or if society has made us that way. I realize that you have healthy and much needed stress and worry, for example when something tragic happens, but stress about the little things, about things over and over again, about everything, that’s what I despise.

2

This isn’t a rant or a random piece of my secret diary (I promise it isn’t), but just a reminder that if you’re the type of person who experiences stress easily and worries about things; you’re not alone and you’ll get through it. Since I have experienced some stress in life myself, I thought it’d be a great idea to share some things with you that help me deal with stress.

  • Ask yourself the question: “Is it going to kill me or anyone close to me?” The answer to most of your worries and problems is ‘no’. It won’t kill you, it will just make you feel uncomfortable if things go wrong. Realizing that will help put your problems into perspective.
  • Write it down. Write down what you’re feeling and thinking in a very descriptive way. Not only is it a great way to let it all out, it’s also good to read it back a week or month later and realize that what you were thinking didn’t really happen (or maybe it did, but you could handle it).
  • Talk about it. I often talk to my parents about stressful situations. They have been alive longer, so they have more life experience. Listen to their advice, their stories and ask them how they deal with stress. Talking to parents, friends, or anyone else who will listen helps you realize that you’re not alone.
  • Visit this site if you need a moment for yourself. The quiet place .
  • The following quote helps me a lot, because it makes me work hard to learn how to deal with stress, with struggles and reminds me to never give up.  “Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass. It’s about learning how to dance in the rain.” Find your own inspirational quote and write it down. Look at it when you’re feeling stressed.

1

There are many more things that you can do, but all in all just remember it’s okay to stress, it means that you care about the outcome, care about your life and the lives of those around you. Just don’t let stress take over, ‘cause stress won’t change the outcome, only how you experience life.

Geef een reactie

