Topic of the day: Boarding School

I honestly don’t know why I (and by the looks of what I found via Google; a lot more people) are so interested in the subject ‘boarding school’. I haven’t been to a boarding school, neither will I ever. And I don’t think I would ever send my children (hypothetically speaking) to boarding school, because I think children need parents around, need a family life and need to have a place to go home to (home not being the same place as school). Maybe it’s because of books like Harry Potter, or maybe it’s because the topic is so foreign to me that it interests me. Either way I realize that boarding schools in books and movies are romanticized a lot, however I also realize (and hope) they’re not as bad as portrait in stories like Tom Brown’s schooldays.

However, I love to read about it, wonder what it would be like, watch movies and documentaries about it and visit boarding school websites (yes, I know that might sound weird). So, since there are more people like me who are interested in this I have made a list of my favorite sources concerning the topic: boarding school.

Movies

  • Dead Poets Society
  • Emperors Club
  • If…

Documentaries

If you’re living in the UK, you’re lucky because SKY 1 (I believe) is airing a new series about Harrow called: Harrow, A very British School. Update: I found the episodes online! There is also a show called ‘Too Poor for Posh School’, which is also only available for UK residents. Let me know if there is some way ‘non UK residents’ can watch these shows!

Books

  • Principles of Love – Emily Franklin
  • Private – Kate Brian
  • Harry Potter – J.K. Rowling
  • Looking for Alaska – John Green

If you have any suggestions for books, movies or documentaries  about this topic, leave a comment below! I’d love to check them out!

3 gedachtes over “Topic of the day: Boarding School

  1. Emmelien zegt:

    Haha yeah, boarding school seems awesome! I just finished re-reading Looking for Alaska and that’s what I kept thinking throughout the whole story.
    As for suggestions: the first thing that comes to my mind is the Hex Hall trilogy by Rachel Hawkins. I haven’t read it myself, but I hear it’s very funny. Oh, and the Finishing School triology by Gail Carriger, that one’s very high on my to read list.
    And then there’s Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro. Completely different from the other two. I’ve seen the movie before I knew it was based off of a book. I’m sure if it’s a boarding school, technically speaking) but it’s a GREAT movie. As in, watch it right now, you won’t regret it.
    I think that’s what I have right now! Shame I haven’t read any of the books I recommended, I might start the Finishing School series as soon as I’ve finished my TBR pile.

    Like

Plaats een reactie