It’s OK to be single

So here’s a shocker to some people. I am twenty two and single. Yes, I said it. I am not in a relationship, nor have I been for about seven years. I’ve honestly never been someone who has been obsessively thinking about her future spouse, wedding and children since the age of thirteen (yes I realize I’ve made a stereotype). I haven’t and I don’t think I’ll start now. I’m not saying there is anything wrong with thinking about relationships and future plans (although obsessively doing it is another story), but I am just not feeling any desperation whatsoever. 

It’s kind of a laugh to be honest that I, in real life, have to explain myself as to why I am single. It’s not like I’m on the verge of fading in to an old lady. I’ve practically just left the womb (allright, that sounds weird, but 22 is still so young). So, what’s the hurry?

catiemccartney-profile-picture-1

I’ve always thought of relationships as a gift, as something special, but also as something that acquires a lot of work. Good and healthy relationships don’t just fall out of the sky (it might seem that way though). You have to put time and effort in to it and keep working on it every day. I’m very lucky to have a living example of a healthy and amazing relationship in my parents. I know a lot of young people can’t say the same and it makes me very grateful that I can.

Call me old fashioned but when I think of dating and pursuing a relationship with someone I’d like that to be with a goal. The goal of spending the rest of my life together with that person. And marriage of course. It’s also the perfect time to discover if the relationship you’re in is going to work or not. I’d like to focus on getting to know the other person in an emotional kind of way, getting to know their dreams and aspirations and finding out their take on important life decisions.

catiemccartney-profilepicture-3

I’ve even said, although I really do hope I won’t have to fulfill this, that I will be okay if I have to be a bachelorette. I think I’d survive. Of course I’d miss a companion in my life, but I would spent my time in such a way that it’d be fulfilling. I guess that takes off any pressures I might’ve had about finding my soulmate. It’s going to be okay either way. 

catiemccartney-photo4

So don’t ever think you need to be in a relationship just because you’re a certain age, or just because everyone else is or because you feel pressure to do so. Take the time you have now to develop yourself, to find out what you like and what not, to establish dreams and aspirations and to be the best person you can be. And when that right person walks through the door, go for it, take it one day at a time and enjoy it. It’s going to be okay! 

6 gedachtes over “It’s OK to be single

  1. Karlijn zegt:

    Ik vind het alleen maar heel mooi dat je er op deze manier over denkt. Ik ben ook 22, heb geen vriend en denk er hetzelfde over. Het lijkt me soms wel fijn om een vriend te hebben en niet meer alleen thuiskomt, iemand gek op je is en voor je gaat. Maar ik zou nooit om die redenen op zoek gaan naar iemand. Wel hoop ik dat ik ooit eens de ‘ultieme’ jongen tegenkom met wie ik uit wordt en gelukkig. X

    Like

    • CatieMcCartney zegt:

      Dankjewel! Ik ben het helemaal met je eens, natuurlijk is een vriend geweldig en wie wil nou niet thuiskomen bij iemand die gek op je is, maar tevreden zijn met de situatie en niet wanhopig iedere jongen aanklampen is ook goed! Heb je geen leuke Deen meegenomen? 😛

      Like

  2. Rosie zegt:

    Mooi geschreven zeg 🙂 ik ben het helemaal met je eens. Je single leventje zou ik ook alleen maar opgeven voor the one, écht. Nooit voor minder gaan dan de ware hoor, daarvoor is vrijgezel zijn toch ook veel te leuk! Ik ben mijn ware al erg jong tegen gekomen (ik trouw over 2 maandjes) en dat is heel fijn maar ik had het ook echt niet erg gevonden als ik hem een paar jaartjes later was tegen gekomen hoor :)! Geniet lekker van je single leventje, liefde komt vanzelf, vaak wanneer je het het minste verwacht (zoals ik op de sportschool in mijn oudste outfit en knot op mijn hoofd ;p)!

    Liefs Rosie

    Like

Plaats een reactie