Catie’s Kitchen: Sweet potatoes, Fish & Samphire

I promised my parents one day that I would cook dinner. This is something I often do during the weekends or when I’m home for a break. I love cooking in their big, clean kitchen, with all the right utensils and my moms support if I need it. I searched the web for a recipe that I’d like to try and I came across this one with a sweet potato. Since we live in a rural, coastal area, samphire is locally grown here. After a mid day hike we picked up some samphire from our local farm and I decided to add this to the recipe. It ended up being this: roasted sweet potato with filling, a Dutch kind of cod coated with dough (we call it ‘Lekkerbek’ which means someone who loves refined food) and samphire. 

sweetpotato-1

Roasted sweet potatoes (3 persons)

– 3 big sweet potatoes

– (olive) oil

– salt and pepper

– goats cheese (as much as you’d like)

– a couple of spring onions (I used about 5)

– a couple of hands of rucola

– two big tomatoes

The recipe didn’t ask for this but, I also added some fresh chive from our vegetable garden. 

Get out your baking dish and grease it with some oil. Wash the potatoes and coat them in the oil as well. Poke some holes in each potato with a fork. Put the potatoes in the baking dish and in the oven for about 45-55 minutes at 200 degrees celsius (392 fahrenheit). Check in on them every now and then and poke them with a fork to check if they’re getting any softer. They’re ready when they’re soft and squishy. 

sweetpotato-6

When the potatoes are in the oven you can start on the filling. Crumble your cheese and put it in a bowl. Cut the spring onions, after washing them, and add them to the cheese. Also add your washed and chopped chives and start cutting your tomatoes. Get rid of the seeds and insides and cut the outer parts into small cubes. Add everything to the mixture and finish it off with some pepper and salt. 

sweetpotato-3

Cod
I used the special Dutch kind called ‘Lekkerbekje’. It’s the kind of fish you’d use for fish and chips if you were British, but any kind of white fish, like cod, would do. I greased a baking dish with oil and put two big pieces of fish in to the dish. I put them in the oven with the potatoes on the same heat for about 10-15 minutes. You’ll see the fish turn a golden brown when it’s finished.

sweetpotato-5

Samphire (3 person)
– 150 gram samphire

I used the samphire as a side dish, therefore 150 grams will do. Rinse the samphire with some water. Put some water in a bowl and let it get to a boil. When it boils add the samphire for about 10 minutes. When it’s done get rid of the water and you’re ready.

sweetpotato-4

Finishing touches
I added a handful of rucola to each plate and put the potato on top. Cut down the middle of the potato and add the cheese and tomato mixture. Finish the plate with the samphire and cod and you’re ready to eat!

sweetpotato-2

Enjoy your meal! Tag me on Instagram and Twitter #catieskitchen @catiemccartneyblog

Geef een reactie

