Catie’s Bookshelf #2 | October Reading

It’s Fall, which means it’s perfect book reading weather. The days get shorter, the weather gets colder and that spot on the couch is calling your name. I catch myself making lists of books I want to read, ordering them online and browsing my favorite bookstores to find that one special book. So here’s what I’ve currently read, am currently reading and want to read in the near future.

catiemccartney-octoberreading-5catiemccartney-octoberreading-4

Matched by Ally Condie
For some reason I’ve always told myself that I didn’t need to read another dystopian story. That I’d had enough of Divergent and The Maze Runner kind of books (not to say that I don’t love those). And yet, every ‘book ordering website’ that I use kept recommending this one to me. So I caved. I bought the book. And I loved it. I truly did. Yes, it’s another dystopian story. Yes it has some similarities to the books that I mentioned. But oh boy, was it a page turner. I couldn’t put it away. The bad thing is, that the the second book in this series is getting a lot of mixed reviews. Have you read it? Do you recommend it? Or should I stick to the first one?

catiemccartney-octoberreading-3

The Magician by Lev Grossman
Nothing can replace my love for the Harry Potter series, but I can at least give the boarding-school-fantasy-kind-of-books another go since I loved it so much when I was younger. I would describe the Magicians (with all do respect) as a grown up Harry Potter book series. Kind of. It’s interesting, it’s mysterious, it’s placed in a school setting and it’s magical. It’s a different kind of writing, a kind I’m not used to. It’s fast paced in some places and yet slow and detailed in others. I’m halfway through and not yet sure where it’s going. So far, it’s been good though!

catiemccartney-octoberreading-1

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath
Is it a classic? I’m not sure, but it’s one that I’ve heard a lot about. Both good and bad. When a book is both talked about and has a unique story, I already feel the urge to read it. The Bell Jar is published in 1963 and written by Sylvia Plath. It’s a semi-autobiographical novel that deals with the struggles of mental illness. Sylvia Plath herself dealt with mental illness and died from it around the time her book was published. I’m curious to read her story and form my own opinion about it.

catiemccartney-octoberreading-2

What are you currently reading?

2 gedachtes over “Catie’s Bookshelf #2 | October Reading

Geef een reactie

